Astrophysics Research Institute - Home Page   Liverpool John Moores University - Home Page
  • Home
  • About
  • Staff
  • Teaching
  • Research
  • Diary
  • News
  • Liverpool Telescope
  • Outreach & Schools
  • Spaceport
  • Contact
  • Celebrating students across the region

    On Thursday 28th June Spaceport Visitor Attraction (Seacombe, Wirral) hosted some of the region's most talented A-level students to celebrate their accomplishments in Physics. The low percentage of students taking physics at A-level, and on to university, has been well documented over recent years, and this event aimed to celebrate those students with a natural gift for such a difficult subject. The night was organised by The Ogden Trust, a charitable foundation whose aim is to ‘make physics matter’ by working with young people across the UK, and Liverpool John Moores University. Schools across the Wirral and Chester nominated a student who has excelled in physics, and who displays a love of the subject far beyond what is generally expected for A-level pupils.

    From left to right: Christopher Phillips, The Mosslands School; James Gooding, Hilbre High School; Connor Sait, St. Mary’s Catholic College; Sean Telford, The King’s School Chester; Eleanor Jones, The Queen’s School; Josh Appleby, South Wirral High School; Prof. Andy Newsam, LJMU; Michael Suffield, St. Anselm’s College; Barbara Grundy, The Ogden Trust; Ramis Tahmasebi, Birkenhead Sixth Form College; Matthew Kemp, Calday Grange Grammar School; Oliver Rogers, St. Nicholas Catholic High School; Zachary Humphreys, Neston High School; Stephen Caraher, Wirral Grammar School for Boys; Lauren Arrowsmith, Weatherhead High School; Thomas Brown, St. Richard Gwyn Catholic High School; Jack Griffiths, Bishop Heber High School; Claire Stringer, Upton-by-Chester High School; and Deborah Martin, West Kirby Grammar School.

    The winners were treated to free rein of the museum after hours, refreshments and a talk by Prof. Andy Newsam of the Astrophysics Research Institute, Liverpool John Moores University, who consistently engages and enthuses both the general public, and school pupils, about astronomy nationwide. Each pupil received a certificate and prize, and now becomes part of the Ogden Trust Alumni, from which they will benefit throughout their careers in physics.

    Winners who couldn’t attend the evening were: Heather Graham, Birkenhead High School Academy and Lewis Parsons, Helsby High School.

    Many congratulations to all of the winners and the best of luck for all of your future endeavours!